Report : Final - MI vs CSK

The Mumbai Indians were crowned champions of Pepsi IPL 2015 after they registered a resounding victory over the Chennai Super Kings in the title-clash at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Rohit Sharma kept his love affair with the venue after he blitzed his way to a half-century first up and then ended the day lifting the coveted IPL Trophy. After setting CSK a target of 203, the MI bowlers kept striking at regular intervals, took all the opportunities that came their way and restricted their opponents to 161-8 to win by 41 runs.

After being put in to bat, MI were pushed on the backfoot in the first over when Faf du Plessis pulled off a sensational run out to dismiss the opener Parthiv Patel. However, the reliable Lendl Simmons and skipper Rohit Sharma snatched the initiative back in spectacular fashion, attacking the CSK bowlers relentlessly.

Both batsmen kept finding the fence every over until they were together at the crease. From 1 for 1 at the end of the first over, MI recovered to finish the Powerplay overs at 61 for 1; Simmons had scored 33 of 23 balls and Rohit had raced to 26 of 11 balls. Both batsmen continued their onslaught and stretched their partnership 119 runs. Simmons brought up his half-century off 35 balls in the tenth over, while Rohit reached the milestone in the twelfth over.

Rohit perished immediately after he brought up his half-century when he holed out to long on; his 50, made from 26 balls, had six fours and two sixes. CSK struck twice in two balls when they dismissed the other well-set batsman immediately; in a surprise move, the CSK skipper MS Dhoni handed Dwayne Smith the ball for his first bowl of the season, and the West Indian landed the perfect yorker first ball to see the back of Simmons. The MI opener made 68 from 45 balls and hit eight fours and three sixes during his stay at the crease.

Kieron Pollard and Ambati Raydudu contributed with cameos in the back end of the innings. Pollard, batting at number four, struck two fours and three sixes in his 18-ball 36 before he was dismissed in the penultimate over of the innings. Rayudu, who walked in to bat after Simmons was dismissed in the thirteenth over, consumed 24 balls for his 36, studded with three hits over the fence, and batted through to the end of the innings. The partnership between Pollard and Rayudu lasted 6.4 overs and added 71 runs to the MI total.

MI finished their innings at 202-5. There were a total of 16 boundaries and 12 sixes hit in the innings. The 17th over of the innings was the most productive over of the innings; Rayudu and Pollard plundered Ashish Nehra for 23 runs. There were 12 overs in the innings in which the MI batsmen scored 10 runs or more in the over.

CSK had rode on the brilliance of Brendon McCullum and the consistency of their bowlers to get to the final. Unfortunately for MS Dhoni, the wheels came off the bowling attack in the most-crucial match of the season. Dwayne Bravo picked up two wickets extending his tally of wickets in the season to 26. Ashish Nehra too had a poor day in the office, conceding 41 runs in his four overs. It must have been a severe handicap for Dhoni that he could only use six overs of spin on the day; the spin trio of R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Pawan Negi bowled two overs apiece, went wicket-less and conceded 65 runs combined.

Already reeling under the pressure of having to score more than ten runs an over from the start of the innings, CSK’s task became more difficult when the opening pair of Dwayne Smith and Michael Hussey struggled to put bat on ball early. The latter perished in the fifth over when he slashed at a wide delivery but holed out to the fielder at point.

Smith cut loose thereafter, and in the company of Suresh Raina took the fight to the opposition. The second-wicket pair added 66 runs. Smith needed 29 balls to score his first 27 runs, but thereafter accelerated scoring 30 runs in the 19 deliveries. He was dismissed in the 12th over when he failed to put bat to ball while attempting a sweep against Harbhajan Singh and was rapped on the pads in front of the stumps.

The MI off-spinner struck for a second time in two overs when he beat Raina with a wide delivery and gave Parthiv Patel the opportunity to pull off a simple stumping. The CSK left-hander, who batted at number three, made 28 and hit three boundaries and a six in his 19-ball stay at the crease.

From 99 for 3 when Raina was dismissed, CSK collapsed, losing their next five wickets for 38 runs, and eventually finished their twenty overs at 161-8.

Mitchell McClenaghan was the most successful of the MI bowlers, returning figures of 3 for 25, while Harbhajan Singh was the pick of the bowlers, picking up the wickets of the two dangermen Smith and Raina. Lasith Malinga (2-25) and R Vinay Kumar (1-39) were the other wicket-takers.

Brief Scores

Mumbai Indians 202-5 in 20.0 Overs (Lendl Simmons 68, Rohit Sharma 50, Dwayne Bravo 2-36) beat Chennai Super Kings 161-8 in 20.0 Overs (Dwayne Smith 57, Mitchell McClenaghan 3-25)

Man of the Match:
Rohit Sharma for his match winning knock 50 of 26 balls

Player of the Tournament: Andre Russell

Orange Cap awarded to: David Warner

Purple Cap awarded to: Dwayne Bravo

Emerging Player of the Season: Shreyas Iyer

Most Valuable Player: Andre Russell

Current Article Report : Final - MI vs CSK