Preview: M40 - RR vs DC

Rajasthan Royals clash with the Delhi Capitals for the first time in VIVO IPL 2019


Match 40 will see the Rajasthan Royals clash with the Delhi Capitals for the first time in VIVO IPL 2019.  Both teams will look to build on wins in their respective previous matches; the Rajasthan Royals outclassed the Mumbai Indians on Saturday, while the Delhi Capitals got the better of Kings XI Punjab later the same evening.

Despite their poor start to the season, the Royals are still in with a chance of making the playoffs; for that, they need to win all their remaining five matches. A fair assessment of the Royals’ campaign so far would be that they’ve not identified their best XI just yet. In a bid to give the team a bit of impetus and energy, the management relieved Ajinkya Rahane of captaincy and handed the responsibility to Steve Smith. The leadership question appears to be a short-term solution though, for Smith will part ways with the team some time shortly. The Royals also missed their prolific opener Jos Buttler, who returned home to be with his wife for the birth of their child. That therefore has forced a restructuring of the side.

The Delhi Capitals have turned around their season after a poor start. DC had won two of their first five matches; but in the last fortnight, they’ve gone on to win four of next five matches. The Delhi Capitals, despite their deficiencies, are gaining momentum at a crucial time in the competition and need two good days to book a playoff spot. Shreyas Iyer and company will be bubbling with confidence heading into this match, knowing they have an impressive record on the road.


22 April 2019, 8pm IST


Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Previous Match XIs:

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, Riyan Parag, Ashton Turner, Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni.

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane.


The Rajasthan Royals need to Sanju Samson to bring to the park his best cricket. The young batsman, promoted to open the innings to fill the void of Jos Buttler, can dazzle with his strokeplay; his team needs a breezy attractive 30.

Delhi Capitals have discovered a template that works for them; Shikhar Dhawan sets the tone at the top with a brisk start, after which captain Shreyas Iyer holds the innings in the middle and end overs. Dhawan has changed his approach during the course of the season; after scoring at a strike-rate of 117 in the first five matches, the left-hander has batted more aggressively, scoring at 144.4 in the following five matches. Shreyas meanwhile has been the Delhi Capitals’ top-scorer in three of their last four wins; the DC captain may not have lit up the stadium with big hits, but he has batted very responsibly, and much of the same will be expected in the coming matches.

Though the surface at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium might not have too much assistance for the pace bowlers, expect Jofra Archer and Kagiso Rabada – who bowl quick and have good variety – to still cause damage. Shreyas Gopal and Sandeep Lamichhane – two immensely skilled, brave and intelligent leg-spinners – will have a huge role to play for their respective sides.

Head to Head in Indian Premier League

Overall: Matches – 18, Rajasthan Royals – 11, Delhi Capitals – 7

Since 2013: Matches – 8, Rajasthan Royals – 7, Delhi Capitals – 1


The Delhi Capitals have the best away record in VIVO IPL 2019; they’ve won four of their five matches on the road.

The Delhi Capitals are the only team to not register a 50-run opening partnership in VIVO IPL 2019.

Shreyas Gopal’s ten victims in VIVO IPL 2019 are: Jonny Bairstow, Vijay Shankar, Manish Pandey, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock.

Kagiso Rabada (153.91kph) and Jofra Archer (152.60kph) have bowled the two fastest deliveries of VIVO IPL 2019.

The Rajasthan Royals are the only team to have not won a match batting first this season.

Current Article Preview: M40 - RR vs DC