Report : Qualifier 2 – RR vs MI

Mumbai Indians rush into title tilt

Mumbai 25 May 2013
Mumbai Indians made it to their second IPL final with a four-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. MI will now face CSK in the Final of Pepsi IPL 2013 on Sunday.

Chasing 166, Aditya Tare hooked James Faulkner for a six to get MI rolling. Tare then hit consecutive boundaries off Shane Watson in the fourth over. Runs continued to flow as Tare and Dwayne Smith picked up a boundary each off Faulkner in the sixth over.

Smith went after Vikramjeet Malik smashing two boundaries in the 8th over. Tare (35) stepped down the track and punched Siddharth Trivedi over the ropes before chipping Kevon Cooper straight to Sanju Viswanath stationed at long-on. At the halfway stage, MI were 73 for one, still requiring 93 runs.

Dinesh Karthik smashed consecutive boundaries off Cooper as MI plundered 16 runs from the 12th over. Smith brought up his fourth fifty of the Pepsi IPL 2013 with a six off Faulkner in the 13th over. Smith continued his assault launching Watson into the stands in the following over. Karthik (22) slashed Cooper straight to Ajinkya Rahane at point to give RR their second wicket in the 15th over.

Needing 40 from 30 balls, Trivedi bowled Rohit Sharma (2) in the 16th over. Smith (62) was then caught by Viswanath off Binny before Kieron Pollard hit a six in the seventeenth over. Needing 26 from the last three overs, Pollard (11) holed out off Faulkner. Ambati Rayudu slammed a six before Brad Hodge dropped him, leaving MI to score 8 off the last over. Watson bowled Rayudu (17) but MI reached the target with a ball remaining thanks to boundaries from Rishi Dhawan (4*) and Harbhajan Singh (6*).

Earlier the start of the match was delayed by an hour due to wet outfield. RR won the toss and elected to bat. Rahul Dravid dismissed Mitchell Johnson for consecutive boundaries in the third over. Rahane joined in with two boundaries off Johnson before Dravid smashed consecutive balls to the fence off Pragyan Ojha. Harbhajan Singh got the breakthrough bowling Rahane (21) in the seventh over. Harbhajan struck again having Watson (6) caught, top edging a sweep in his next over. Viswanath (0) departed soon after caught by Harbhajan off Lasith Malinga in the tenth over.

Stuart Binny stepped down the track and launched Ojha for a six before hitting a boundary. Dravid (43) chipped Harbhajan to Sharma at short mid-wicket to leave RR four down at the start of the 13th over. Pollard then struck twice having Binny (27) caught by Harbhajan before Cooper (4) was caught by Smith. Dishant Yagnik smashed two boundaries off Ojha in the 18th over before Malinga lost his direction and conceded 18 runs in the last over – courtesy a few lusty blows from Yagnik (31*) and wide deliveries. RR finished their 20 overs at a competitive 165 for six.

Man-of-the-Match: Harbhajan Singh

Brief Scores: Rajasthan Royals 165 for 6 in 20 overs (Rahul Dravid 43, Harbhajan Singh 3-23) lost to Mumbai Indians 169 for 6 in 19.5 overs (Dwayne Smith 62, Kevoon Cooper 2-33) by four wickets. 
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top