Report : Match 72 – SRH vs KKR

SRH make final four cut; bettering KKR

Mumbai 20 May 2013
Sunrisers Hyderabad secured their spot in Pepsi IPL 2013 Playoffs, knocking out Royal Challengers Bangalore out of the race, courtesy, their five wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday night. Batting first SRH restricted KKR to just 130 before their batsmen chased down the target in 18.5 overs.

Chasing a modest 131, Parthiv Patel got SRH rolling with consecutive boundaries off Pradeep Sangwan in the second over. Patel, playing the role of the aggressor, went after Yusuf Pathan striking consecutive boundaries, before Shikhar Dhawan joined in with a slog-swept six. SRH made 45 from their Power Play.

Dhawan upper cut Jacques Kallis for a six before smashing a boundary in the eighth over. He continued the attack with two more boundaries off Mohammad Shami. At the halfway stage, SRH were 77 for no loss, still requiring 54 runs.

Iqbal Abdulla got KKR their first breakthrough, trapping Dhawan (42) leg before as he attempted the reverse sweep. Abdulla struck again dismissing Patel (47) leg before wicket in the 14th over. Cameron White (2) setting off on a suicide run and was run out by Eoin Morgan in the 15th over. Needing 25 from 30 balls, Hanuma Vihari (6) top edged a sweep off Abdulla causing some tension in the SRH camp. Sunil Narine bowled a maiden over in the 17th as the required run rate took a climb. Shami then bowled Thisara Perera (4) with a stunning Yorker in the 18th over. Needing 15 from two overs, Darren Sammy smashed consecutive sixes to see SRH home with seven balls remaining.

Earlier KKR won the toss and elected to bat. Openers Gautam Gambhir and Manvinder Bisla started slowly. Bisla (15) struck a boundary off Thisara Perera, before he perished the next ball caught by White at cover. Gambhir was given a life when White put him down at cover off Anand Rajan on 8. KKR made 33 from their powerplay. Gambhir (10) was run out by Samantray courtesy of a horrible misunderstanding in the eighth over.

Karan Sharma trapped Morgan (9) leg before to leave KKR three down in the 11th over. After a few quiet overs, Dale Steyn got his fellow countryman, Kallis (24) caught at the boundary in the 16th over. Ryan ten Doeschate (1) was completely deceived by an Amit Mishra wrong 'un as he was adjudged leg before wicket. Pathan then launched Perera for a six in the 19th. Paras Dogra (5) holed out to Perera off Steyn before Pathan pulled him for a six. Narine (1) fell in the final over before Pathan hit six off the last ball to help KKR finished at 130 for seven..

Man-of-the-Match: Parhiv Patel

Brief Scores: Kolkata Knight Riders 130 for 7 (Yusuf Pathan 49*; Dale Steyn 2-24) lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad 132 for 5 (Parthiv Patel 47; Iqbal Abdulla 3-29) by 5 wickets.
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Umpire Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top