Report : Match 51 – KXIP vs RCB

Clinical Kings stun Challengers

Mumbai 07 May 2013
Kings XI Punjab came back to winning ways with a statement making six-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali. After RCB posted a massive 190, KXIP, led by David Miller’s brutal 38-ball unbeaten 101, chased it down in 18 overs.

Chasing a mammoth 191, KXIP lost Shaun Marsh (6) caught by AB de Villiers off Ravi Rampaul. Mandeep Singh (16) was then caught behind off Vinay Kumar in the fifth over to give RCB their second wicket. Gurkeerat Singh hit Henriques for two boundaries as KXIP made 41 from the Power Play. Murali Kartik, introduced into the attack in the eighth over, struck immediately trapping Gurkeerat (20) leg before wicket. He struck a second time when David Hussey (13) holed out to Moises Henriques at long on. At the halfway stage, KXIP were 68 for four, still needing 123 runs.

Miller smashed Kartik for a six in the 12th over. Rajagopal Sathish was put down by Chris Gayle on seven off Vinay Kumar. Miller went after Vinay Kumar hitting him for a six and two boundaries before Virat Kohli put him down on 41. Miller continued his assault taking apart an RP Singh’s over – the 15th of the innings - for 26 runs with two sixes and three boundaries.

Needing 53 from 30 balls, Miller dispatched Rampaul for a six and a boundary in the 16th over. He dished out the same treatment to Vinay Kumar in the 17th over. Sathish (27*) hit Gayle for a six and two boundaries before Miller finished the proceedings with a six to bring up his century and see KXIP home. Miller’s 38-ball century – his first three-figure score in Twenty20 cricket – is the third-fastest century in the IPL.

Earlier KXIP won the toss and put RCB in. RCB openers Gayle and Cheteshwar Pujara started cautiously before Gayle hit consecutive sixes off IPL debutant, Michael Neser taking 18 runs from it. Pujara then joined in with three successive boundaries off Manpreet Gony as RCB made 58 from their Power Play. Gayle brought up his 15th IPL fifty clipping Neser off his pad for two.

Gayle (61) smashed Gony for a straight six before the bowler came back strongly to castle him. Pujara hit Parvinder Awana for consecutive boundaries in the 14th over. Gony gave KXIP their second breakthrough when he bowled Pujara (51). Awana had Kohli (14) caught by Shaun Marsh as KXIP put the brakes on the RCB’s scoring. de Villiers (38*) hit Neser for a six and a boundary in the 18th over. Henriques (16*) then launched Praveen Kumar over the mid-wicket fence before smashing a boundary. RCB plundered 21 runs off Neser’s final over to finish at 190 for 3.
Man-of-the-Match: David Miller

Brief Scores: Royal Challengers Bangalore 190 for 3 (Chris Gayle 61, Manpreet Gony 2-41) lost to Kings XI Punjab 194 for 4 (David Miller 101*, Murali Kartik 2-24) by 6 wickets. 
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top