Quick Stats : Match 31 - RCB vs PWI

Chris ‘Bheem’ Gayle re-writes records

Mumbai 23 April 2013
263: Royal Challengers Bangalore’s total – highest ever in Twenty20 cricket. Previous highest was Sri Lanka’s 260 for six against Kenya at Johannesburg in 2007. Previous highest in an IPL game was Chennai Super Kings’ 246 for five against Rajasthan Royals in 2010.

175: Chris Gayle’s innings is the highest ever in all Twenty20 cricket, surpassing Brendon McCullum’s 158* for Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2008.

167: Runs added by Chris Gayle and Tillakaratne Dilshan – highest opening partnership in IPL history. Mumbai Indians’ Sachin Tendulkar and Dwayne Smith had added 163 runs without being separated against Rajasthan Royals in 2012.

Victory margin for Royal Challengers Bangalore – second biggest in IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders had beaten Bangalore side by 140 runs in very first IPL game in 2008.

Number of balls taken by Gayle to race to his 150 - fastest in Twenty20 cricket.

30: Number of balls taken by Gayle to race to his hundred – fastest in Twenty20 cricket. Andrew Symonds held the previous record with a 34-ball hundred for Kent against Middlesex in Twenty20 Cup in 2004. Incidentally the previous fastest IPL hundred had come off Yusuf Pathan’s bat – off 37 balls – while playing for Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians in 2010.

29: Runs conceded by Aaron Finch in his only over (eighth of the innings) - most expensive in IPL2013. The fifth over of the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s innings – bowled by Mitchell Marsh – produced 28 runs.

17: Sixes hit by Gayle are the most in an innings in a Twenty20 match. Graham Napier had hit 16 sixes for Essex vs Sussex in Twenty20 Cup in 2008. The previous record of most sixes in an IPL match was shared by Brendon McCullum and Chris Gayle with 13 sixes.

15.5: Overs taken by Royal Challengers Bangalore to race to 200 – fastest in IPL history. Chennai Super Kings had taken 16.5 overs against Rajasthan Royals while scoring IPL’s previous highest total in 2010.

11: Number of hundreds scored by Chris Gayle in Twenty20 format – most by any batsman. David Warner and Brendon McCullum are distant second with five hundreds each.

Overs taken by Royal Challengers Bangalore to race to their hundred – fastest in IPL history. Royal Challengers Bangalore also held the previous record with 8.2 overs against Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011.

7: Number of sixes conceded by Mitchell Marsh in the match – most by any bowler in an IPL match. James Hopes (in 2008), M Muralitharan (in 2010) and Ashish Nehra (in 2010) had conceded 6 sixes in a match.

4: Number of hundreds scored by Chris Gayle in IPL- most by any batsman. David Warner, Murali Vijay and Adam Gilchrist have hit two hundreds each.

  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top