KKR sign four domestic players

Additions boost franchise before IPL 2012

By IPL desk
Mumbai 01 March 2012
The Kolkata Knight Riders have signed four domestic players to bolster their squad before the start of IPL 2012.

The four players signed by the franchise are Debabrata Das, Iresh Saxena, Chirag Jani and Sanju Samson. While Das and Saxena hail from Bengal, Jani comes from Saurashtra and Samson is from Kerala.

KKR CEO, Venky Mysore, expressed his satisfaction on the signings saying, “Our latest signings continue to reflect our two chosen areas of local players and emerging talent.

“Debabrata and Iresh grow our commitment in our catchment area of Bengal – and we are really happy that they will get a chance to secure their places in our team.

“Chirag and Sanju represent our investment towards the future, and we know that they have the talent and dedication to significantly contribute to our team one day.”

Debabrata, who was part of the Knight Riders’ squad in the inaugural IPL season, is a 25-year-old middle-order batsman who can double up as wicketkeeper as well.

Saxena, a 28-year-old left-arm spinner, meanwhile, has been an important part of the Bengal squad in all three versions of the game.

The 22-year-old Jani has emerged as a dependable all-rounder for Saurashtra while Samson is a promising keeper and middle-order batsman.

Kolkata, who had made it past the league stage of the competition for the first time in April 2011, had earlier picked up Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine and Marchant de Lange at the 2012 Player Auction.

Kolkata will begin their IPL 2012 campaign when they host the Delhi Daredevils on April 5 at the Eden Gardens at 8pm (IST).
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top