Report: Match 31 – PWI v DD

Delhi Daredevils steamroll Pune Warriors India with captain Sehwag leading from the front

By IPL desk
Mumbai 24 April 2012
The Delhi Daredevils  avenged their 20-run loss against the Pune Warriors India from a few nights ago by beating them at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium. Thanks to this win, DD maintain their hold at the top of the points table. After restricting PWI to a below par score of 146, the Daredevils made light work of the target as they chased down the score in 16 overs for the loss of two wickets.

After winning the toss, and opting to bat first, Pune had a woeful start to their innings. Jesse Ryder played an Irfan Pathan delivery that kept low on to his stumps before he had scored a run in the very first over. In the next over, Sourav Ganguly (1), looking to blast the ball through the off side, thick-edged a Morne Morkel delivery straight in to the hands of Shahbaz Nadeem, standing at third man, to leave the Warriors at two for one in 1.2 overs.

Those two wickets brought Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey together. They helped revive the innings by taking the hosts to 53 for the loss of two wickets in 11 overs. Then with the innings in a dire need of a fillip, the two batsmen switched gears as they smashed the last nine overs for 93 runs.

Pandey got two extra lives during his innings, but made the most of those dropped catches as he powered his way to a 56-ball innings of 80*. Uthappa (60*) was equally feisty in the second half of the PWI innings. The batsman scooped Morne Morkel for two runs over short fine leg in the 18th over to bring up his second half-century score of the competition. The 145-run stand between the pair helped the home team to 146 for the loss of two wickets in 20 overs.

However, that total was never going to be enough for a batting line-up boasting the likes of Virender Sehwag, Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor. Jayawardene struck a rapid 14-ball 18 and was run-out in a dreadful mix-up with Sehwag in the third over. Then, the DD skipper and Pietersen dominated the PWI attack with aplomb.

The pair shared an 89-run stand for the second wicket during which they hit Luke Wright, Ashish Nehra and Rahul Sharma over the boundary ropes, thus helping Delhi past the 100-run mark in just 10.1 overs. Pietersen (27) eventually fell to Sharma when he top-edged a delivery from the leg-spinner straight to Jesse Ryder at mid-on in the 12th over. However, with the captain leading from the front, DD brought up the winning score with a trademark Sehwag six off Sharma over long-on at the end of the 15th over.


Man-of-the-match: Virender Sehwag for his match-winning 48-ball 87* (10x4; 3x6)
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top