DC overcome DD in owners match

Ajitabh Rajan helps Deccan Chargers’ owners win final-over thriller against Delhi Daredevils

By IPL staff
New Delhi 20 April 2012
Although their IPL team is yet to open its account in the fifth edition of the IPL, the Deccan Chargers owners led by Gayatri Reddy beat the Delhi Daredevils owners here tonight. In the first Owners' Match of IPL 2012, DC overcame DD by seven runs at the Feroz Shah Kotla after the Chargers lost to the Daredevils in Match 23 of IPL 2012 earlier in the evening.

In the ten-over-a-side match, Man-of-the-Match, Ajitabh Rajan’s all-round performance helped the visitors win a final-over thriller after Gayatri Reddy won the toss and opted to bat. Ajitabh claimed four wickets, three off which came in the last over. With DD requiring 12 off six balls, he first bowled young Ruchir and then sent back Raju, and finished with the wicket of Trent off the last ball.

Ajitabh had earlier contributed nine runs to DC total. As they defended 63 runs, he was well supported by DC’s assistant coach Kanwaljeet Singh who picked two wickets. Kanwaljeet received the best bowler award for his effort. While Dr Zahoor, who had also contributed 11 runs, received the best fielder award for his brilliant effort in the field.

Chasing a competitive total, the Daredevils were in the match until the eighth over. The home team was 51 for the loss of two after eight overs, and required 13 off 12 balls. But DD managed to score only one run the penultimate over by Kanwaljeet. They then lost wickets in a heap in the last over, and failed to reach the target.

The awards were given away by Mr. GM Rao, the owner of the Delhi Daredevils.
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top