Report: Match 19 – MI v DD

Delhi Daredevils steamroll Mumbai Indians with seven-wicket win

By IPL desk
Mumbai 16 April 2012
The Delhi Daredevils put up a clinical performance to decimate the Mumbai Indians in front of the latter’s home crowd at the Wankhede Stadium. After winning the toss and opting to field first, the visitors’ bowlers put up an all-round show to bowl the hosts out for a paltry 92. In reply, the Daredevils chased down the target in just 14.5 overs for the loss of three wickets.

It was an ordinary batting performance by the MI batsmen, who struggled to get going against the visitors’ bowling attack. With Sachin Tendulkar still not playing for MI, Shahbaz Nadeem knocked over openers Davy Jacobs (0) and Richard Levi (1) in successive overs, with the hosts adding just five runs to the scoreboard. Ambati Rayudu (4) made his way back to the dugout next; the MI batsman was run out while attempting to complete a run off a leg-bye.

Rohit Sharma was the only top-order MI batsman who reached double-digits with a 27-ball 29. But Ajit Agarkar ended his resistance in the 10th over with the score at 41. And with Umesh Yadav removing Kieron Pollard (1) and Dinesh Karthik (3) on either side of Sharma’s dismissal, the hosts were in all kinds of trouble at 44 for six in 10.2 overs.

MI would have fared much worse had it not been for captain Harbhajan Singh’s feisty 22-ball 33 (5x4, 1x6) while batting at No.7. But with Irfan Pathan picking up the wicket of Clint McKay (8), and Morne Morkel sending RP Singh (0) and Harbhajan back in the 16th and 18th over respectively, MI couldn’t manage to go past the 100-run mark. Pragyan Ojha was the last MI batsman to be dismissed when he was bowled by Agarkar off the second ball of the 20th over.

After bowling MI out for the lowest total so far in the competition, Naman Ojha and Virender Sehwag knocked 34 runs off the first five overs of the run chase. RP Singh, playing his first game of the tournament, then struck for MI when he had Ojha (13) caught at short midwicket off a miscued pull shot off the first ball of the sixth over. RP added another wicket to his tally when he had Kevin Pietersen (9) caught in similar fashion with the visitors score at 52.

However, with Virender Sehwag leading from the front (36-ball 32), and Mahela Jayawardene (17*) and Ross Taylor (11*) stringing together an unbeaten 19-run stand for the third wicket, Delhi won the contest by seven wickets and with 5.1 overs left to spare.

The win takes the Delhi Daredevils to the top of the IPL 2012 points table while the Mumbai Indians slide to the fourth spot.


Shahbaz Nadeem for his excellent bowling figures of 4-0-16-2

  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top