Quick Stats: Match 36 – DD v MI

Sehwag gets three in a row; Pietersen becomes fourth-fastest

Mumbai 28 April 2012
1 Delhi Daredevils batted first for the first time in eight matches in IPL 2012.

1 Delhi Daredevils became the first team in IPL 2012 to win both home and away matches against the same opponents.

2 Mahela Jayawardene and Virender Sehwag became only the second pair of openers to register individual fifties in IPL 2012 – Faf du Plessis and S Badrinath of the Chennai Super Kings had each scored fifties as openers against the Pune Warriors India in Chennai on April 19.

The first three batsmen – Mahela Jayawardene, Virender Sehwag and Kevin Pietersen – scored 50s in Delhi Daredevils’ innings. This was the first such instance in the IPL and only the fifth in all Twenty20 games.

Sehwag became only the third player to score three consecutive fifties in IPL 2012. Prior to this, he had scored 57 and 87* against the Pune Warriors India in back-to-back matches. Sachin Tendulkar (in IPL 2010) and Jacques Kallis (in IPL 2011) are the other two players to accomplish this feat.

4 Thisara Perera became the fourth substitute fielder to take a catch in IPL 2012 when he caught Irfan Pathan – Earlier TM Dilshan, LA Pombersbach and DJ Harris had held catches as substitute fielders.

The Blizzard-Tendulkar duo was the sixth opening pair employed by the Mumbai Indians in eight matches!

8 Virender Sehwag won his eighth Man-of-the-Match award. Now only Yusuf Pathan (11) and Chris Gayle (9) have won more awards than Sehwag.

Number of overs taken by the Delhi Daredevils to score their 150 – fastest in IPL 2012.

25 Balls taken by Kevin Pietersen to reach his fifty – fourth-fastest in IPL 2012 after Owais Shah (19), AB de Villiers (21) and JP Duminy (24)

73 Virender Sehwag’s innings is the highest by any batsman in Delhi Daredevils-Mumbai Indians contests, surpassing Sanath Jayasuriya’s 66 at this same ground in IPL 2008.

135 Runs added by Mahela Jayawardene and Virender Sehwag for the first wicket – the highest partnership for any wicket for the Delhi Daredevils against the Mumbai Indians.

142 Runs scored in boundaries alone in Delhi Daredevils’ innings – 22 fours and nine sixes – most in a team innings in IPL 2012.

273 Number of boundaries (fours & sixes) hit by Sehwag in IPL – 199 fours and 74 sixes – most by any batsman. He went ahead of Adam Gilchrist’s tally of 271 boundaries (187 fours & 84 sixes).
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Umpire Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top