Experts converge for IPL commentary

Jackman, Mbangwa, Moody, Raja, Reeve join Ind panel

Mumbai 22 March 2012

The 2012 season of the DLF IPL is set to commence on Wednesday, 4 April 2012, and some of the world best commentators will be there to bring the best ball-by-ball action.

This year sees 9 teams playing a total of 76 matches played across 12 venues starting with defending champions Chennai Super Kings hosting the Mumbai Indians at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

IPL has invited the best commentators the game has ever seen from all over the globe, to share their experience and expertise with television viewers around the world.

Robin Jackman, who was born in the Punjab and played for both England and Rhodesia, has settled in South Africa as a commentator. He will be joined by recently retired HD Ackerman and former South African captain Kepler Wessels, who coached Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural season in 2008.

Tom Moody is the lone Australian on the panel. He was coach of Kings XI Punjab from 2008 to 2010. He was part of two World Cup winning teams and also coached Sri Lanka between 2005 and 2007.

Another World Cup winner who will be seated in the commentary box is Pakistan’s Rameez Raja, who was part of Imran Khan’s victorious team in 1992, whilst former Zimbabwean captain Alastair Campbell will be joined by his national team mate Pommi Mbangwa.

New Zealand speedsters Danny Morrison and Simon Doull, and batting ace Craig McMillan will join the panel from New Zealand, whilst Dermot Reeve, assistant coach to Pune Warriors India in 2011, will be coming from England.

India will have the largest representation of commentators and will feature the renowned Sunil Gavaskar, who is better known as test cricket’s first ‘five-figure’ man, who also carries the credibility of being the most experienced of all commentators in the tournament.

The commentary panel will boast the ‘spin twins’ Ravi Shastri and L. Sivaramakrishnan who will be joined by ‘Mr. Technique’ Sanjay Manjrekar, and the popular Harsha Bhogle.

IPL Chairman, Rajeev Shukla, commented: “One of the many highlights of the DLF IPL is the manner in which the skills of the cricketers on the field are complemented by those of the experts sitting in the commentary box. There is no doubt that the commentary team for this year’s tournament will enhance the viewing experience for television audiences across the globe.”
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top