IPL launches 'Super Sixes' competition

Stars vie for 'DLF IPL's longest hitter' title

By IPL desk
Mumbai 16 April 2012
Media Release


The IPL has launched a new and exciting competition to identify the league's longest hitter.
Whilst there have been 186 sixes struck in the 18 matches that have been played so far this season, they were hit from a wide variety of deliveries. The Super Sixes challenge will feature a select number of big hitting players to task as they showcase their power hitting skills against a standard delivery.

The first of five of the Super Sixes challenges commenced in Kolkata on Sunday evening at Eden Gardens following the match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab. It proved to be highly entertaining and showcased both local and international players. Yusuf Pathan of Kolkata Knight Riders hit one of his four deliveries a distance of 78 meters. However, it was not long as Kings XI Punjab's David Miller from South Africa, who favoured the conditions and hit all four of his deliveries clear of the boundary rope, the longest of which travelled 83 meters, ensuring his place at the top of the leader board.

The rules are of Super Sixes are simple. Each team will nominate up to three batsmen to face a total of twelve balls delivered by a bowling machine. As a warm up, each player will receive two practice balls.

The winner of each challenge will be the player who hits the longest six as measured by Hawk Eye, and will receive a prize of 1 lakh. All Super Sixes challenges will be played on the pitch that was used in the preceding IPL game. Each of the nine IPL teams will take part in one of the Super Sixes challenges.
At the end of the season, the title of "the DLF IPL's longest hitter" will be presented to the player who hit the longest six in the Super Sixes challenges, and will win the grand amount of 5 lakh .

The remaining Super Sixes challenges are scheduled to take place as follows:

24/04/2012 in Pune - Pune Warriors India and Delhi Daredevils

06/05/2012 in Mumbai - Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings

13/05/2012 in Jaipur - Rajasthan Royals

20/05/2012 in Hyderabad - Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Title Sponsor

  • Official Broadcasters

  • Official Digital
    Streaming Partners

  • Official Partners

  • Official Strategic
    Timeout Partner

Back to top